My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

International transactions?

Started by RonGee, 08/17/2019 12:48AM
Posted 08/17/2019 12:48AM Opening Post
Hi and good day,

I am new to Astromart and am running my very first ad.  I am in the U.S. and someone from Europe (Poland) has expressed interest in my item.  I've never done an international sale before and was hoping to get some guidance and perhaps things to look out for.  I've looked into using PayPal for the transaction, and there appear to be transaction and conversion fees involved.  There's also a fee for a commercial transaction, but I'm not a business, just an individual selling some personal gear.  The person interested has been a member since February of 2019 but has no ratings. I'm new as well, so I'd imagine that I don't have any ratings, either.

The item is small, an astro camera, but the shipping charges might get pretty large as well.

I've tried to do searches in the forums looking for international transactions, but haven't had much luck; I might just be using the wrong search parameters, of course.  I'm happy to do my homework if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks for any guidance you might be able to provide.

Ron
Posted 08/17/2019 03:02AM #1
I have been around here for years and well over 100 transactions without any major issues. That said I have only sold one item outside the USA (Japan) and bought 2 items from outside the US (England and Austrailia)....All three went off without a problem but all of them were long after I was fully versed on buying/selling/shipping etc.