HorseHead and Flame

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Best compliment for a Telescope user?

Started by panni, 09/05/2002 11:26AM
Posted 09/05/2002 11:26AM Opening Post
Hi. I am new to astronomy. Moving from Chicago to Arizona, I finally pursued my interest.

For serious intermediate telescope users, what type(power/size) is most complimentary and useful Bino??? This might be too broad a question, but I would like to get a bino that I can use once i get a telescope.

I have decided to go the Binocular route(instead of low end telescope). I will save a little money and get the best Binos I can afford, hopefully a Nikon, Fujinon or similar. My budget is under US $400 (Preferably $275 for a used pair). I want binos i will want to use for many years to come.

From what I have read in the forums, it seems like the high power 20X80's, etc, are too big for the beginner? Besides several readers have complained that the low end 20x80's often have soft edges.

My preliminary choice is a pair of 7X50 marine. I do some boating as well, and would like to get a compass equipped pair for dual use. Is there any reason I should NOT consider a Marine bino w / compass for astronomy use? P.S. I also plan on buying a decent tripod or other mount, so a larger bino is still a possibility for me. thanks for any comments Sven
Posted 09/06/2002 08:28AM #1
Hello Sven.

I can think of only two reasons NOT to choose a particular marine binocular:
1) its images aren't as good as those of another non-marine (or marine) unit.
2) its weight/bulk make it difficult to hold or carry.

Unfortunately, some marine binoculars *do* show a visible disadvantage, when compared with other marine (and non-marine) binoculars. -That's what I've read, anyhow. I have very little experience with compass-equipped binoculars, but I hear good things about the Fujinon and Nikon offerings.