finding owners of giant binoculars

Started by Pol-Aris, 06/28/2008 08:36PM
Posted 06/28/2008 08:36PM Opening Post
After more than 50 years in amateur astronomy, I have yet to run across anyone with giant binoculars in the 120-150mm range. Admittedly, I haven't been to any of the national star parties, but one would think that in all those years I would have come across someone in either southeastern Wisconsin or northeastern Illinois who could have treated me to a view through one of these giants. Right now I own 4 telescopes and have built several, but my desire has always been to posess very large astronomical binoculars. However, I am leery of spending possibly several thousand dollars on a class of instrument I have never looked through. Is there anyone out there, in my part of the world, who might be able to help??? Thank you.
Posted 06/29/2008 04:00AM #1
I've been assembling the components for a giant binocular for a couple of years (as time/money permits)- 2 F/8 Celestron CR6 refractors, a strong tripod with a center column that can extend to over 7 feet. Now I need to put together the bits and pieces- large mirrors/diagonals, etc.

I'm playing with the option of using oversided focal reducers to get wider views. When all said and done the project should run less than $1000 total. It won't be the prettiest thing, and I hope it all works.

Jess Tauber
Posted 07/01/2008 02:38PM #2
Hi Aris -- I have a pair of Nikon 20x120's -- bought them about a year ago. I haven't found a lot of user feedback on giant binoculars either -- some discusson on the Cloudy Nights website.

Giant binoculars are a mixed bag, like everything else in astronomy. Let me start with some negatives: