My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Mars again.. LOL :-) Contrast questions

Started by Ron777, 08/25/2003 04:24PM
Posted 08/25/2003 04:24PM Opening Post
Hey, me again!

When you guys are veiwing Mars, how does it look compared to the photo here. ( I edited it to have less contrast but enhaced the polar cap since it seems to stand out when I veiw it. )
This is how the contrast looks in my scopes. I know they always say (who ARE those they ppl?) that Mars takes practice and eye training. This is my first year to really look at Mars, and I do "infer" detail looking at it, but when you are just looking right at it, how is the contrast in your scope compared to this?
Or is it seeing?
Eyepeices?
Or is this just all the "contrast" you see with an untrained eye and direct vision?

Thanks!
Ron

Attached Image:

Ron777's attachment for post 8682
Posted 08/25/2003 04:47PM #1
Close. The way I see it, the polar caps have more defined, brighter/more white, and shaped w/ an appearance of higher altitude. The surface features are a tad darker and the planetary edges are much sharper (probably due to the pixel size of the jpg. The contrast between Mars and the background is similiar to my view through the APO.

Rob
Posted 08/25/2003 06:38PM #2
I remember the polar cap as being much brighter... but that was a few weeks ago before the monsoon.

Charlie

Fort Lewis Observatory: (37.238, -108.052) ~2360m (7744 ft.) elevation.
Darkness - typically 6.5+
Scope - Meade 16" LX200; f6.3 focal reducer
Focus - JMI Smart focus
Camera - SBIG ST-10XE; (~.5"/pixel)
Guiding - AO-8 and/or Meade 5"/DSI/PHD
http://www.fortlewis.edu/observatory
Posted 08/26/2003 12:02PM #3
Hello Ron,