Jupiter (clearer) Nov 5th 2023 w/Mewlon 180c

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Coating damage from cleaning?

Started by bartine, 11/30/2014 08:23PM
Posted 11/30/2014 08:23PM Opening Post
I sold a 22mm Nagler to a newbie here on Astromart.

When I sent it, it looked good. No issues. I didn't really see any dust.

Then - the guy sends me back a picture - claims " I thought the Nagler 22 just needed a cleaning, but turns out it appears to have major coating issues." and he sends me back this picture.

I feel horrible, and offer to give him his money back.

Attached Image:

bartine's attachment for post 58913
Posted 11/30/2014 08:27PM #1
I asked "What did you do" and he says -

" If you are wondering, it was cleaned the same way I clean all my TV EPs, using alcohol and cotton swabs per the instructions on the TV website. "

Realize - I didn't think it needed cleaned at all. But thought maybe I just missed it. Then in a later email he gives this thoughtful reply:

" However, I can promise you that I took the utmost care when cleaning, didn't do any hard rubbing on it, and stopped as soon as I realized the marks weren't from dew. "

I start thinking - how much did he "clean" it? Am I wrong to think he destroyed this eyepiece?

Ben
Posted 11/30/2014 08:36PM #2
I do not know about your issue, but once I loaned an eyepiece to another club member in order for him to see if he wanted one for himself. He later returned my eyepiece not to me direct, but to my place of employment & when I got it, it was not my eyepiece but one with a seriously scratched eyelens. Of course there was no proof of this exchange but I learned my lesson and also decided future club membership was not for me (an earlier event with another club one of my eyepieces was stolen out of my scope when I was not attending it). I'd suspect the new owner exchanged his for yours and is attempting to bilk you. What is one bad rating worth vs your otherwise excellent ratings?