Spiral Symmetry of NGC 3486

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Focusers

Started by Jeremiahcole, 12/13/2014 08:10AM
Posted 12/13/2014 08:10AM Opening Post
First of all let me say I am fairly new to astronomy, but have been LOVING it! I am saying that because most of the threads are way over my head and I would love an answer, but please keep it basic.

My scope is a Celestron XLT 120. I have noticed the factory focuser seems to be a little sticky and it can be tough to get it to not focus through the object I am looking at. What are good replacement options?
Posted 12/13/2014 08:20AM #1
Jeremiah Cole said:

First of all let me say I am fairly new to astronomy, but have been LOVING it! I am saying that because most of the threads are way over my head and I would love an answer, but please keep it basic.

My scope is a Celestron XLT 120. I have noticed the factory focuser seems to be a little sticky and it can be tough to get it to not focus through the object I am looking at. What are good replacement options?

Personally I prefer Moonlight focusers and have them on all my scopes but one.....however there are also many other good options, some of them for less $$.....You definitely want a dual speed focuser though.....

Dont Let Trump Cheat!! Demand Voter ID Now!
20" MidnighTelescopes f/5
8" f/16 Muffoletto Achro
Meade 6" AR6 f/8.0 Achro
Celestron C11
Parallax PI250 10" F/5 Newt
Vixen FL102S,NA140SS,R200SS
80mm Stellarvue Nighthawk with WO APOupgrade lens, 90mm f/16.67 Parallax Achro
LXD75/LX200, Mini-tower, GP-DX, CG5 ASGT, LXD650, GM-8, G11, GM-100, GM-150EX, GM-200 and a Gemini G40
4" portable AP convertable 44" or 70" pier
Stellarvue M7 Alt-Az, TSL7 Pier/Tripod
12.5" f/5 MidnighTelescopes DOB Swayze optics
Statham GA
Posted 12/13/2014 10:29AM #2
Jeremiah: