What Do Amateurs Do For a Living?

Started by jadamslh, 02/25/2007 11:41PM
Posted 03/07/2007 05:30AM #30
I am a scientist - a molecular biologist. I just like to push the limits and see beyond most people usually do - literally - I use optical technology to see extremes: super tiny molecules using confocal microscope and monstrous galaxies using my telescope 8) Both unexplored - complex living cells and vast universe give me same goosebumps and hours of excitement.

8" f/5.9 truss tube newtonian, made from scratch 8)
Posted 05/13/2007 06:38PM #31
I'm a space scientist working for NASA. Started in laboratory astrophysics research in 1991 at NASA Ames Research Center near San Jose, CA. Now working as program scientist for the Spitzer Space Telescope and Herschel Space Observatory at NASA Headquarters in Washington, DC.

My interest in amateur astronomy and ATMing goes back to my high school days in Wyandotte, MI, though.

Doug Hudgins
Dumfries, VA
ATM Truss-tube Dob w/24" f/5 Swayze primary
Meade LX200 7" Mak
Posted 05/14/2007 05:05PM | Edited 05/14/2007 05:10PM #32
I haven't read all of the replies yet, but I'll add my own:

I work for a company called EaglePicher Technologies. We build spacecraft and satellite batteries. Specifically, I run test regimes, set up the test equipment, maintain and troubleshoot test equipment, generate data, analyze the data and make recommendations. We are getting ready to build new batteries for the Hubble Space Telescope now (since our batteries that are up there now are 19 years old)and have built the batteries that power DAWN, AIM, SWIFT, Spitzer, all of Dish and Directv, Iridium, and the list can go on forever...

EDIT: Oh yeah!!! we also build cells for the ISS too. We don't get to package the batteries, though.
Posted 05/14/2007 06:54PM #33
Hello James,
I am a retired USAF Aircraft Maintenance/Munitions Officer. I currently work in Service Engineering for an aircraft manufacturer building Very Light Jets (VLJ).

Harry