Prominence

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

celestron 9.25 gps nexstar is broke need help

Started by Bandit50, 05/29/2020 06:21AM
Posted 05/29/2020 06:21AM Opening Post
Hey guys  i have a problem and i seem to be running in to dead ends , me and my son got a celestron  nexstar xlt 9.25 carbon fiber used about a year ago it's really nice and we have enjoyed it , i recently went to install a extension from the hc to mount and when i did the hc lost its memory or the boards did . i'm not that tech savvy i had got a used handset and it does same thing shows no response 16 and 17  i removed covers and inspected but see nothing i cleaned pins checked wires and see no faults, i'm lost here and would appreciate any advice or refer me to a repair person or facility it may be over my head to repair it i've never done anything such as this, but willing to try. i think i caused the issue by plugging in the extension a friend made it for us and used cat 5 wire 6 strands i guess that caused it somehow , any advice for old guy here trying spend time with his son would be a lifesaver he keeps getting in and ask if i got it fixed starting make me look bad, lol thanks 

Attached Image:

Bandit50's attachment for post 169736
Posted 05/29/2020 09:29AM | Edited 05/29/2020 09:32AM #1
Yes, the error 16 and 17 refers back to the alt and az motor communications with the HC not being present.

You need to look into clearing and updating the firmware..... I think there is a process for forcing a firmware reinstall to the HC but I don't know the procedure. According to what I know errors 16 & 17 refer to the motors and the error is due to the absence of the firmware for the control of those motors. I'm assuming that somehow the on board programmable memory chip "eeprom" was erased. Perhaps by the cable you used causing a short ie surge because it was wired wrong.....