My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

looking for some advice

Started by kevlvm, 06/23/2008 03:49AM
Posted 06/23/2008 03:49AM Opening Post
Been long enough to qualify as a beginner, my equipment
1 - 8" Discovery reflector - purchased as eq mount - the not so great one that came with a lot of scopes. Focuser is suspect-probable upgrade
1 - Stellarvue 80/9D OTA w/rings - use the same mount
Telrad finder
Red Dot finder
Some EP

I'd love to get back into things but not sure I'm happy with what I have. My gut says sell everything and start over, but not sure thats necessary and was hoping to get some ideas as to what is useable or to go in a different direction. Thanks for thoughts
Posted 06/23/2008 04:21AM #1
Kevin VerMerris said:

1 - 8" Discovery reflector - purchased as eq mount - the not so great one that came with a lot of scopes. Focuser is suspect-probable upgrade
Telrad finder
Red Dot finder
Some EP

I'd love to get back into things but not sure I'm happy with what I have. My gut says sell everything and start over, but not sure thats necessary and was hoping to get some ideas as to what is useable or to go in a different direction. Thanks for thoughts

Kevin: It does seem that most of us go through a process of discovering what it is we like to do and discovering the equipment is suited for our particular needs. So buying and selling equipment can be part of the game. Astromart is a big help in this regard as it allows us buy and sell equipment without taking a huge loss...

Not knowing what you are interested in doing, he's a few random thoughts:

- An 8 inch Reflector and an 80mm refractor make a nice combination, it's a nice balance, one is well suited for wider field of view work, one is best for widefield and "grab and go."