Jupiter (clearer) Nov 5th 2023 w/Mewlon 180c

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Novice reseaching for first scope

Started by Julian, 01/13/2005 12:49AM
Posted 01/13/2005 12:49AM | Edited 01/13/2005 12:52AM Opening Post
I am a novice and want to purchase my first telescope, but like many first timers, I have reached the "analysis paralysis" stage. However, based on the numerous postings I have read, it seems that most suggest getting the largest aperture possible. I have a budget of about $1500.00 and am leaning toward the Orion XT12 Intelliscope with "push-to" controller. The weight, transport, and home storage is no problem. The cost of the scope with shipping is about $1200.00. This would leave me with some extra for accessories. What accessories would you recommend for this scope? Has anyone heard anything about the performance of this 12 inch scope? Would really appreciate input! Thanks, Julian.
Posted 01/13/2005 01:32AM #1
I am fairly new to this as well, but here is my 2 cents.

I started out with a junk 60mm refractor, so you are at least skipping that step. I now have an Orion 10" Dob, without the "intelliscope" part. I really love this scope, I just wish I had all the money to buy all the accesories I would like to have.

With that in mind I might start with the 10", which gives you plenty of aperture to see a lot of stuff. You will then have spare money to buy the intelliscope controller ($75), a good set of eyepieces ($250 and up), a good filter set ($100 and up), a good set of binoculars ($100 and up) etc., etc.

The accesories you will need may very well cost as much as the telescope you buy.

I am sure others will have better advice than I do......
Posted 01/13/2005 02:42AM #2
I would second what some others have said, 12" will blow your socks off but it's an awful big size and labor commitment for a novice starting out.