Image of the day

Captured by
Jeffrey Crilly

M27 - 12 LX200R

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

The Lunar X Is Visible Right Now

Started by Dave Mitsky, 03/03/2009 03:08PM
Posted 03/03/2009 03:08PM Opening Post
I took my wife's 6" f/8 Orion XT6 Dob outside about 45 minutes ago. Using an 8-24mm Tele Vue zoom eyepiece, I first observed a thin crescent Venus (16% illumination, 47" angular size) which was easily visible to the naked-eye, but not as a crescent, prior to sunset. The crescent shape was also discernible with my 8x42 Celestron Regals.

I then trained the 6" on the Moon and beheld the Lunar X, which is also known as the Purbach Cross and the Werner Cross, at magnifications ranging from 51x to 152x.

Dave Mitsky

Chance favors the prepared mind.

De gustibus non est disputandum.
Posted 03/03/2009 08:40PM #1
Here's an afocal photograph of the Lunar X that I took with a Sony DSC-S600 digital camera and the XT6 shortly after 8:00 p.m. EST (1:00 UT).

Dave Mitsky

Attached Image:

Dave Mitsky's attachment for post 128705

Chance favors the prepared mind.

De gustibus non est disputandum.
Posted 03/03/2009 08:42PM #2
This image was captured with a Sony DSC-F707 digital camera at full zoom at approximately 9:15 p.m. EST (2:15 UT).

Dave Mitsky

Attached Image:

Dave Mitsky's attachment for post 128706

Chance favors the prepared mind.

De gustibus non est disputandum.