Jupiter (clearer) Nov 5th 2023 w/Mewlon 180c

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Help needed

Started by Astrovale, 02/17/2003 02:53PM
Posted 02/17/2003 02:53PM Opening Post
Hello everybody, My name is Luca, I'm writing from Italy and I am fairly new to the hobby. I started out about 18 months ago with a little refractor and then a little reflector. I never decided to try astrophotography with my previous instruments.
Now, I received a Nexstar 11GPS as wedding gift from a group of friends and I need some advice on a CCD camera to use with the above scope. My main interest is deep sky objects (love nebulae, of course).
Is there a good quality color CCD camera? How much quality do I have to be ready to compromise in order to reduce time using a color CCD?
Is the Fastar system the best way to go about reducing focal length, or a "traditional" focal reductor would serve equally well? In the latter case, which one would be the most indicated for my scope?
Thanks to anyone who'll take the time to answer my neophyte's question.

Luca

www.amun-ra.org
Solar Imaging Website
Posted 02/18/2003 04:27AM #1
Luca…

Congratulations! You have much better friends than I do.

I don't know much about CCD myself (I just had to respond). I'm sure you will get some help soon. This is a good group here at Astromart.

Fred
Posted 02/18/2003 10:09PM #2
Luca
Buy the book "The new CCD astronomy" (Ron Wadowski)
You can buy it from "Anacortes"
It will probably answer all your questions without you having to jump on line too much..plus the advice that you get here will probably come in small increments..why wait?
when you can open the flood gates?
Good luck with your new scope..you must be very happy..I know I would.
Gerard
Posted 02/19/2003 12:18AM #3