Image of the day

Captured by
Paul Walsh

Wet beak - he had just skimmed the neighbor's pond.

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Roman Machan

December 29, 2020 11:47 PM Forum: Beginning Astronomy?

Need Advice for Cassegrain 7" "project"

Posted By Roman Machan

I am completely new to astronomy and telescopes, but I have a partial setup that I think is very high end, and I would like to see if I can get it to create an image.  I have a Questar 7" telescope that came from an old, but very high-end atmospheric science instrument that I saved from the trash.  When I looked up the 7" Questar, it looks like a fully functional telescope from this manufacturer goes for around $10,000.  From what have researched, I have a 178 mm diameter Maksutov Cassegrain with an effective focal length of 2400mm.  This gives a focal ratio of 13.48.  It has the focusing knob that moves the primary mirror, and that does seem to change the focus when just looking through the axial hole (see picture attached).  The mirrors that I can see appear flawless.  Please try to answer ANY of the questions I pose below, or just comment on where I have misunderstood my research on this whole topic.  My total experience is reading on the internet for the past few days, and I have no practical experience at all with telescopes or optics, but have a solid engineering background, and I am willing to learn.