Posts Made By: Frank Castanho

February 1, 2005 03:50 AM Forum: CCD Imaging and Processing/Deep Sky

How to use Meade DSI on LX200GPS with focal reducer?

Posted By Frank Castanho

I'm new to CCD imaging and was considering the Meade DSI.

I was reading literature on Meade DSI, the question I have is how to use the Meade DSI with a 6.3 focal reducer. Reading up on the focal reducer says to connect a #62 T-adapter to the focal reducer, how do you connect the DSI to the T_adapter ?Where should the focal reducer go , at the rear of the SCT or after the micro focuser? From what i've found on the internet the ccd should be about 87 mm behind the 6.3 focal reducer so I assume you just can't install the focal reducer on the back of the SCT followed by the microfocuser then the diagonal the the DSI, this configuration seems longer than 87 mm and focus may or may not be able to be achieved or the focal reduction ratio would be way off?

Thanks
Frank

One possible solution I've found is a SCT to eyepiece adapter from scopestuff, but the distance is far shorter than 87 mm, I then found that a meade barlow with the lense removed would extend this adapter close to 87 mm, will this work? SCT,focal reducer, SCT to eyepiece adapter, barlow with lense removed, then the DSI?

Am I just reading to much into this , Meade has no information on how to use the DSI with focal reducer, but all of their example photo's use them, anybody have any experience with the DSI that could help?

May 20, 2005 01:34 PM Forum: CCD Imaging and Processing/Deep Sky

How to use #777 Off axis guider with CCD???

Posted By Frank Castanho

I have a #777 Off axis guider (for 35 mm camera use) I want to use the #777 off axis guider with a meade DSI ccd, I think I need a T-Mount extension tube or t mount to