My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: David Vandervelde

December 9, 2002 08:42 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

How do I remove a Telrad base?

Posted By David Vandervelde

Hey folks, I have a Celestron C8 and attached a Telrad base. Unfortunately, my Telrad broke and now I am getting the Celestron Star Pointer instead, so want to remove the Telrad base. I am scared to try remove the thing though, I'm worried it might damage the tube. Should I just leave it on? Has anyone ever tried taking that base off? Thanks for any help or suggestions.

December 9, 2002 11:37 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

Meade SWA vs UWA

Hey folks, I want to purchase a medium-high power eyepiece in the 12mm-15mm range, and am looking mostly at the Meade 13.8mm SWA and 14mm UWA. I really want the UWA but am not sure I can justify spending that much on an eyepiece (I'm a university student and a few hundred dollars isn't just lying around for me to spend). Is the UWA that much better than the SWA that it should be more than twice as much? I've never looked through either of these eyepieces so I have no personal experience. And does anyone have any info on the Celestron Axiom 15mm? It seems quite reasonably priced. How about Naglers in this range? As you can tell, I have no experience with high-priced eyepieces. If it makes any difference I have an 8" f/10 SCT, but am thinking about getting a 12.5" f/4.8 Dob. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

December 9, 2002 11:45 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

Celestron 9 x 50 Finderscope

I'm new to this site so I'm a little overanxious to finally get out all my questions... You'll all have to bare with me 'cause my name might be popping up a bunch.
People don't seem to be too excited about the Celestron 9x50 finderscope... I have the 6x30 and was just about to order the 9x50, but now I'm not so sure. Is it worth it? Are there better finderscopes out there?

December 9, 2002 11:50 PM Forum: Equipment Talk