My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Vincent Bert

February 16, 2003 02:31 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

Orange tube C8 optics cleaning

Posted By Vincent Bert

Does anyone have any advice on removing the corrector plate and cleaning all the optical surfaces on an old C8? I'm currenty getting up the courage to do this myself as Celestron wants over 100 bucks + shipping and a 6 week turnaround time to do this. Any advice, well, good advice would be appreciated, thanx, Vince

March 26, 2003 02:13 PM Forum: Solar System Observing

Learning to Sketch

Posted By Vincent Bert

I am just learning to sketch my observations. I started out on DSO's, mainly small, dim galaxies as they were easy enough for my limited artistic experience. I generally will make a field sketch with notes then go inside and do the finished drawing on a table in better light. I am not near ready enough to tackle the planets yet but I am getting there. I noticed Sol and Carlos' drawings of Jupiter are simply jaw dropping! Do you gents make a field sketch first then the finished drawing later? If so I would love to see one of your field drawings of the planets as it may give me some guidance and insight on how to approach them with the pencil. Also, how do you handle the quickly changing face of Jupiter while you are doing a sketch? Should I just jump right in and try the gas giants? I'm afraid I might get frustrated until I get better (and quicker) with the pencil. That said, I get great satisfaction from sketching my observations, and my observing skills have improved tenfold. It offers much more instant gratification to me than taking film images. Also, I noticed that due to my sketching I can now see detail in DSO's that most others will not notice until I point it out to them at the EP, and I imagine that it will be the same for the planets. I appreciate any pointers you could post.

April 14, 2003 06:07 PM Forum: Solar System Observing

Jupiter last night