Image of the day

From the
ATWB Customer Gallery

IC 5070 + NGC 7000

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Poll

2020 President - NO COMMENTS (take to Politics Forum)

Results
Previous Polls

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Sean Cunneen

July 20, 2007 05:50 PM Forum: Telescope Making

spider defraction spikes

Posted By Sean Cunneen

I am new to reflectors, I've had refractors all my life. I've just purchased a 6" f/8 I'd like to use just for planetary. I have been reading about spiders and 3 vane vs 4, curved vs straight. My question; does the thickness of the vanes affect the quality of the diffraction spikes? My telescope comes with threaded rod vanes about 3/32"dia, what if I replaced those with rods 1/16"dia, or take it to an extreme, suspending the secondary with music wire under tension. If the diffraction spikes are ot all that effected by thickness of the vane, it may not be worth the effort. Anyone have any experience? Thanks in advance,

October 31, 2007 01:29 PM Forum: Telescope Making

Build your own motor drive?

Posted By Sean Cunneen

I am collecting parts for a motor drive, any one else try this? What problems did you not expect? I plan to run a 1rpm or so timing motor and gear it down with a worm drive and several belt drives. Any thoughts on steppers vs/ servos/vs timing motors? How did your drive do in cold temps? Anyone?
Thanks,
Sean

November 16, 2007 08:27 AM Forum: Refractors

C4-R Limiting Magnitude

Posted By Sean Cunneen

Last night I split my first"real double", actually the triple of Zeta in Orion. I saw(with Averted Vision) the 10th mag third star, even better, I did not know it was there until I kept looking and looking. 10th magnitude isn't bad considering I live 3 blocks outside of Chicago! So I'm asking, what's the dimmest magnitude you've seen in your scopes compared to what they were rated for? According to Celestron, this scope is limited to 12mag, but what do those mathematicians know anyways!