My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Doug Grebe

February 17, 2005 05:04 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

Broken dust cover

Posted By Doug Grebe

I got a new Lx90 for Christmas, The dust cover fell off and when I went to pick it up part of the edge broke off. It still works but who wants a damaged dust cover. Does any one sell an after market cover for this telescope. Should I contact Meade on this?
Thanks
Doug Grebe

April 29, 2005 05:03 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

Equipment for a 3rd -5th grade class

Posted By Doug Grebe

I am a fifth grade teacher, and I am looking at starting an after school class in astronomy. I am taking a course with Project Astro for the actual curriculum this summer but my principal approached me about buying some equipment for the class. I am a novice astronomer with a lx-90 , a etx 90 and a pair of 15-70 binoculars on a parallelogram mount. I am willing to use my etx and the binos and sometimes the lx-90. I have around $1000 to $1500 to spend. Most of the classes will be right after school with a few night time star parties. I was planning on buying some software, and a solar filter for any telescope /s I might buy. I lust to get a PST just so I could use it but I am not sure that is practical. I don't know how many kids may be in the class but I would probably limit it to only 12-15 per session that I will teach. Any of you that have worked with the Project Astro program your advice is welcome.

March 15, 2006 01:21 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

Focuser for LX-90

Posted By Doug Grebe

If you were looking for a better focuser for a LX-90, would you choose the featherlight micro focuser( 10 to 1 with a new knob) or the meade 1209 micro focuser, or the William Optics SCT focuser. I am using my LX-90 in Alt Az most of the time but I have a wedge and would like to try using it for longish photo's. Will the William Optics fit in Alt az? Will the 1209 fit in Alt az? If so with which diagonal. Thanks in Advance