My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Garry Buck

November 28, 2003 04:07 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

PC power supply and GEM mount

Posted By Garry Buck

I have a Synta HEQ-5 GEM mount. It takes 8 D-cell batteries to power the motors. I have a PC near the scope, and I'm thinking of using one of the 12v outputs from the power supply in lieu of the batteries.

Is this a bad idea? I want to save money on batteries, but I don't want to risk damaging anything. FWIW, I have everything behind a UPS, so I think I'm ok in terms of power spikes and sags.

Garry Buck

January 5, 2004 03:59 AM Forum: CCD Imaging and Processing/Solar System

Yet another Saturn

Posted By Garry Buck

I'm a rank newbie, and this is my first Saturn that I'm not embarassed to show.

It was taken in Tucson AZ, 11pm, Jan 2. Temp 47F, seeing was 3/6, transparency 2/6. Intes MK67, Teleview diagonal, Teleview Powermate 2.5x, SAC IV. Exposure was 1/10th second. Captured a 200 second AVI in Astrovideo at 640x480, uncompressed. Stacked the top 2004 of 3000 in Registax. It took 16 hours for my PC to stack and align the 1.3 Gig file! The result was then ruthlessy abused in Maxim D/L.

Garry Buck

January 20, 2004 04:07 PM Forum: CCD Imaging and Processing/Solar System

Saturn, 1-15

Posted By Garry Buck

Here's a picture I took of Saturn on 1-15. I've processed this run literally dozens of times over the last few days, with different software and different settings. The combinations seem infinite, it's amazing how the same run can produce so many different results.

This is the sharpest I've gotten to date. My big breakthrough was having Astrostack restack on the result. The difference was just huge.

Am I seeing a hint of Enke in there, or is it just an artifact? I don't even know if a 6" scope can resolve such a fine detail.