New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Joe Williams

April 3, 2004 12:31 AM Forum: TeleVue

TV Renaisance eyepeices

Posted By Joe Williams

Hi folks,
I'm new to astromart, but not astronomy. About 15 years ago I bought a TV Renaisance at an auction without an eyepiece. Since then, I've been using it with a mix-n-match set of eyepieces I've acquired including an Orion 32 ortho 2", 25 JSO ortho, 12 JSO Kelner, and a 7.5 Parks gold series. Alas, no TV eyepieces. I no longer have the JSO eyepieces as they were sold with another scope. I've been told that I should consider getting a couple of TV eyepieces. I'm now at the point where I'd like to invest in a couple of TVs. My question is this. If I were to have only two EPs to use with this scope, which should I consider? I've been thinking about a 12mm Nagler and a 4.8mm Nagler. I'd like to be able to do some planetary viewing and I figure the 4.8 combined with the 550mm focal length of the scope should give me sufficient power, but will I suffer chromatic abberasion with this high power EP on such a fast scope? If so, will stop down help?

Any opinions are appreciated.
Thanks

April 9, 2004 01:25 AM Forum: Politics

Ok, what would you do?

Posted By Joe Williams

I'm seeing a lot of anti Bush slander being spewed about on this site. To those who criticise our action in Iraq, I ask you this: What would you have done? Ask for another U.N. resolution? Should we have tried to negotiate with Saddam? Should we have lifted our sactions, or strengthen them? Should we have done nothing?