Posts Made By: Louis Marchesi

February 9, 2005 04:14 AM Forum: Birding Optics and Photos

Red-tailed hawk?

Posted By Louis Marchesi

I noticed this bird perching in the trees this past Sunday. Now I'm no expert birder, but it was obvious that he's a bit larger than even the ravens I've seen in my yard. I consulted my Peterson's and concluded that he's a red-tailed hawk. Am I right?

The only bad thing is that he was on the West side of my property and is backlit by the setting sun.

Nikon D70, 70-30mm Zoom Nikkor @300mm, 1/1600s, f/5.6, ISO200 (yeah, there was a LOT of light!)

Louis Marchesi
New London Township, PA

May 20, 2005 02:12 AM Forum: Off Topic Discussions

Help with USPS!

Posted By Louis Marchesi

I'm a newbie insofar as selling here on A-mart. I have a question about shipping to Canada.

I sold an item and naively went down to the local PO and said: "I need to get this to Canada." I sent it Global Priority Mail. The buyer then e-mailed me of his disappointment that I'd used GPM instead of "parcel post" since he would have to pay a large fee to take delivery of the package.

I suppose I deserve a bad rating for shipping GPM instead of parcel post -- I can accept that. But can someone explain to me why the global priority mail option would be more costly to the receiver than parcel post?

Naturally, I won't be shipping anything outside of the USA after this experience, but I'd like to know what I did wrong.

May 23, 2005 03:29 AM Forum: Birding Optics and Photos

Chipping Sparrow

Posted By Louis Marchesi

I'm somewhat reluctant to post photos here -- you guys (and gals) are good!

Anyway, this little guy kept me company this afternoon during some trimming and weeding. Somehow I managed to "sneak up" on him and get a decent closeup without scaring him off.

Nikon D70, 300mm, f/5.6, 1/1000s

May 29, 2005 10:29 PM Forum: Birding Optics and Photos

Female House Finch?

Posted By Louis Marchesi