New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Ben Kokes

November 29, 2004 02:19 PM Forum: Star Parties

Where to go for a South Cal newbie

Posted By Ben Kokes

Hello all,

I am new to the Astronomy game and would like to go to one of the larger star viewing events. I know nothing about scopes except that the 650x on the side of K-mart scopes is a dirty, dirty like (no, I'm not bitter..) I figured that going out to the evets with many other enthusiasts would give me a feel what would be my better scope to start out with.

Also, how large are some of the star viewing events? 5 people? 50?

Any information would be appreciated...
thanks,
-Ben
benkokes AT hotmail DOT com.

January 4, 2005 05:16 PM Forum: Beginning Astronomy?

Best/first celestial objects to show a girlfriend?

Posted By Ben Kokes

What is the vote on the most romantic objects in the sky. Of course the Horsehead, and Saturn are wonderful, but those are the well knowns. What are the lesser knowns?

You experienced observers, what do you think?
-B

January 5, 2005 08:24 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

Mount for a Celestar8

Posted By Ben Kokes

Hey fellas,

I just bought a Celestar8 Deluxe WITHOUT the wedgemount or tripod. Since I need one, I was wondering if the scope would fit on the Standard tripod (vice the deluxe tripod).

Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks,
-Ben

January 7, 2005 11:03 AM Forum: Beginning Astronomy?

Mounts for a Celestar 8

Posted By Ben Kokes

Hey all,

I purchased a Celestar 8 without mount or tripod, and was wondering if ANY wedger or tripod would work for me, or are the mounts relativelty specific for my application.. ( as in: DO I need a specific Celstar8 wedgepod?)

Thanks,
-Ben

January 12, 2005 03:29 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

DSC: Who has the best encoders?

Posted By Ben Kokes