New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Kevin Vernon

October 28, 2004 12:44 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

Newbie looking for input

Posted By Kevin Vernon

Hi, Gang! *waves*

A little about me - I'm an avid amateur hack photographer - looking to get into Astrophotography.

Got my eye on a couple of scopes, wondeing if any have experience with these to compare the 2.
1 - the Hardin Optical 8 inch StarHOC, along with it's included EQ mount & tripod for $549......
versus
2 - the Orion SkyViewPro 8EQ, with it's included EQ mount & tripod (including single-axis drive) for the same price.

Pros & cons of each? Which has better optics? Which is the better mount? The Orion mount has provision for a polar alignment scope - does Hardin's? the catalogue & website neither are too clear about this. Any serious drawbacks to either, especially in terms of Astrophotography use?

I am also looking to get the heck out of Central Indiana, and relocate to North Central Arizona, someplace - having been there a couple of t[COLOR="Blue"][/COLOR]imes, the skies are fantastic - as is the weather & the scenery. Would love to correspond with any of you from that area.

Sorry to be so long-winded for my first post out of the box. *grin*

-Kevin[COLOR="Blue"][/COLOR]

November 5, 2004 03:27 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

I think I broke the curse. Or at least bent it.

Posted By Kevin Vernon

It's been cloudy & nasty all week. I pick up new optics today - thereby guaranteeing the current weather will continue for another month - and what happens? It clears off!! *Lol*

Awful windy, though - and with a new toy, I was demonstrating NO patience to let the scope cool down. But there were stars to see! Yay!!

-Kevin (Pardon my giddiness)

November 6, 2004 11:53 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

First Light report

Posted By Kevin Vernon

Good morning, Genties & Ladlemen.

First Light report, on my brand new (to me, anyway) Hardin DSH 8" Dob.