New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Marcin Klapczynski

May 19, 2005 02:41 PM Forum: Telescope Making

perfect parabola - hard to grind?

Posted By Marcin Klapczynski

Hi Guys,
I am new in the field and I just have started gathering materials and reading about ATM.

Although vast majority of people say that a parabolic mirror is necessary for good quality pictures in newtonian telescope (no spherical abberation), I found some suggestions about grinding a spherical mirror. They say that making proper parabolic shape is "extremely difficult to even an experienced mirror maker". Moreover they argue that they have never seen blurred picture using spherical mirror...
But then you have to follow Maksutov equation (lamda/4) and 8'' mirror (that I am planning to make) would have to have focal length = 72 inches. That would make focal ratio f/9 ! It is kind of awkward... :S (or it isn't?)

So my question is: is it really so hard to make perfect parabolic 8'' mirror for a guy with lots of patience and excellent manual skills like me? 8)

Thanks for any advice!

June 23, 2005 09:07 AM Forum: Telescope Making

Should a chamfer affect sagita depth?

Hi guys!
I am finnally about to start grinding 203mm (8'') f/6 mirror. I got all equipment, built Focault knife and I am ready for hard work! According to Jean Texerau I have made 45 deg / 2mm chamfer on mirror edge.
My question is: should I take the chamfer into consideration while measuring sagita depth? This would reduce the mirror diameter to 199 mm (2mm chamfer on both edges) and change sagita depth required for f/6. But will the chamfer dissapear during grinding anyway?
Oh, and btw - what is the most convenient and precise way to measure sagita depth?

June 26, 2005 08:56 PM Forum: Telescope Making

just started pushing the glass

Hi guys.