Posts Made By: James Witt

January 11, 2006 03:18 AM Forum: Eyepieces

Selecting eyepieces

Posted By James Witt

Greetings,

I am not sure where to start or exactly what sort of information would be helpful, so here it goes. I retired about 4 years ago and I'm 56. My "seeing" conditions are most often pretty good ... I would assume ... when compared to a city like Phoenix Arizona. Most of my viewing will be “out of the city” in Pine Arizona, with a Latitude of 34.39 N, Longitude: 111.46 W and "my" elevation is 5,650. I also should mention that I am a complete novice. I hope to acquire your knowledge about my current eyepieces and advise on purchasing additional quality eyepieces for visual viewing with my C-9.25 (and other scopes). I am very interested in DSO and especially Lunar. I started out with an Orion ST-80 and still have it. I also have an FSQ-106N (not here yet), FS-60C and a G-11 (not GOTO) mount. I have a Type I Hutech Rebel, an ATIK ATK-1HS II, a ST-4 and a WO SCT 2 speed focuser. Of course I plan on getting into astrophotography soon and have dabbled a touch already. I currently own a powermate 2.5x, a 32mm TV Plossl, 8mm TV Radian and a 18mm TV Radian. Any suggestions and explanations would be very much appreciated.

I should mention that I did search the archives and did quite a bit of reading but I am still a bit confused.

-JW:

March 11, 2006 08:44 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

Hardcase hardware(?)

Posted By James Witt

Hi,

Just curious if anyone knows if the hardware on these type of cases is proprietary (end caps, latches, etc.)?

http://www.scopeguard.com/IMG_0110l.jpg

If not, do you happen to know where the hardware can be purchased?

-JW:

May 3, 2006 05:13 AM Forum: Equipment Talk

Quick Bino Tutor

Posted By James Witt

Bino(s),