Posts Made By: Darrell Hensley

April 30, 2006 07:18 AM Forum: Telescope Making

dobsonian telescope

Posted By Darrell Hensley

Hello,Im new to astromart and am starting a telescope project.Im starting out with a 6"dobsonian.I printed off some seemingly simple plans to build it,but when it comes to the teflon bearings I'm lost.Where or what can I get to make them.Would just plastic work?I bought some furniture sliders of all shapes and sizes to turn the box left to right and hoping up and down in the V cut cradle would work also.Iknow a lot of you guys may be laughing but I dont have any idea of what they should look like.Can I get some ideas on how to build my dobsonian from some of you veteran builders out there?I'm now hooked on stargazing and just want a bigger scope than my ds2114 ats.Ineed more.Maybe after this project I might be able to build a 12 or 15"dob.I figured if Imessed up it would be on the 6"and I could learn from it and some of you folks.By the way,having a rainy night in southern Ky.Icant use any of my scopes except to see the coal hills.Thanks a lot,Darrell Hensley

May 1, 2006 08:54 AM Forum: Telescope Making

teflon bearings

Thanx a million gang.I've got some virgin teflon on way from meridian.Could'nt have done without the help of my new astronomy pals.Keep an eye out for me Im gonna need some guidence----PLEASE!!!I got all my pieces of plywood cut out and my sonotube prepped.Now the fun starts like where do I put my focuser on a 48" long tube.I'll be back next weekend.You are what we call here in Kentucky-Good people.thanks again,Darrell Hensley

May 4, 2006 05:38 PM Forum: Reflectors

clutch assembly for meade 1240 electric focuser