New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Fred Dase

December 2, 2006 07:23 AM Forum: AstroMart FAQ

Rudeness or Ignorance ?

Posted By Fred Dase

Hello,
I am new to Astromart. Over the past 2 weeks I have responded to 6 ads in the classified section. 3 were questions about the item and 3 were requests to buy the item at the price and terms listed by the seller. I have never received any reply from anyone.
My question is ... Are they being rude, or am I being Ignorant and missing some protocol required by this board ?

Thanks ... Fred Dase

February 10, 2007 11:08 AM Forum: Eyepieces

Parfocal Formula ?

Posted By Fred Dase

I was out observing last night with some others and had a friends 31mm Nagler in my scope. After giving it back I popped in a meade 26mm plossl (with adapter) and was suprised to see the image was still perfectly focused.

Is there some formula I can use to calculate if eyepieces of different focal lenghts produced by different manufacturers are parfocal, or close to it ?

Also is it parfocal or parafocal ? I see both used freely on the net.

Thanks ... Fred

April 12, 2007 01:01 PM Forum: Equipment Talk

Visually Best 2" Diagonal

Posted By Fred Dase

I want to buy the best 2" diagonal based on what the human eye is actually able to perceive using my SCT. I have scoured these forums reading posts until my eyes crossed, and these are the few points I believe I have discerned.

1) Anything above (smaller) than a 1/8 PV wave front error is not detectable by eye.
2) The telescope itself can/will add to the total wave front error of the view.
3) The manufacturers wave front error claims are ambiguous or at best provide
incomplete information to compare brands.

If I am wrong in any of the above statement's someone correct me please.

These are the major players in diagonals as I see things.

2" VERNONscope Quartz, Silver Coating 1/20th wave (or better) $445.00