Is there some kind of RANKING ???

Started by BABOafrica, 05/21/2011 03:01AM
Posted 05/21/2011 03:01AM Opening Post
I have very little practical experience but I've been reading a lot on eyepieces lately. There seems to be an overall ranking (in descending order):

1) Televue Ethos

2) Televue Nagler

3) Baader Hyperion

4) All the rest

Is this an exaggeration?

Clear skies dusk to dawn
Joe

In lumine tuo videbimus lumen.

8O Home-made 10” Dob / Home-made 4” refractor

EPs: Konig 32mm (1.25") / Zhumell WF 30mm (2") / Nagler 13mm T1 / Orion Sirius Plossls 25 & 10mm / Zhumell Plossl 9 mm / Meade MA 9mm
Posted 05/21/2011 06:37AM #1
Joseph:

Every discussion of eyepieces should begin with a quote from page one of Jean Texereau's classic work: "How to Make a Telescope", first published about 60 years ago:

"It is not usually made clear, that these elements,
objective and eyepiece, are by no means comparable in
importance. The astronomer's hopes are almost wholly tied
to the size and quality of the objectve. The objective of
even the smallest telescope, because of its larger
dimensions, the severe optical requirements it must meet,
and the difficulty of its construction, completely
overshadows the eyepiece."

There are lots of good eyepieces out there. To enjoy the view, one does not need to invest hundreds of dollars in each eyepiece, there are very good eyepieces available for $50 and even less. For example the TMB Planetary eyepieces do a good job even in a moderately fast scope, have a comfortable 12mm of eye relief, a nice 58 degree AFoV and cost about $65.

There are quite a variety of attributes that are important in an eyepiece and depending upon the object and the telescope, some capabilities are more important than others.

A list might look like this, no particular order: