My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Posts Made By: Don Dahlquist

June 23, 2004 06:01 PM Forum: Religion

Free Will

Posted By Don Dahlquist

What would be the point of creating man without free will? Without free will there would be no sin, no moral responsibility, no need for the Bible or Commandments.

Free will allows for man to have choice. Would you want it any other way? Without free will there would be no pain or suffering but you would be merely an animation.

July 8, 2004 03:29 PM Forum: Deep Sky Observing

Was it a comet or globular cluster?

Posted By Don Dahlquist

I am pretty new to this hobby and need some help to identify what I saw last night, 7/7/04. It was at about 11:30 PM CDT (0430 UT 7/8/04 I believe), due west and about 30 - 40 degrees up from the horizon.

It was either a pretty bight comet, or a fuzzy globular cluster. I was observing from my back yard in the city (St. Paul, MN) so the sky never really gets very dark.

Can anyone identify this object or have a good guess? To me it looked a lot like comet Neat did a while back, only brighter and larger.

Thanks,

Don

July 12, 2004 08:29 PM Forum: Deep Sky Observing

Sunday night

Posted By Don Dahlquist

I think the last thread went on far enough to establish that I can now expect to find a globular cluster in the area of M3!

Last night was one of the best in terms of the weather. The first cleardarksky forecast was for better than average conditions and then, for some reason, the cleardarksky forecast for Sunday night was dismal. I decided to wait it out and see and was rewarded with my best viewing so far in my 2+ months of my new hobby. Despite the night glow of the city lights I was able to find M13 with my binoculars - right where it should be. The hard part was trying to get my refractor to point that high. Alex - you're right, I do need to get a 1x finder! It's on my list.