Southern Sea Otter

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

7' Dome Observatory Underway

Started by fugardi, 10/30/2004 09:14AM
Posted 10/30/2004 09:14AM Opening Post
Folks, I've been working on my observatory for almost 2 years now but having just broken by C11 tripod leg the night of the eclipse, I have been re-energized to say the least. Buying another cheapo tripod right now doesn't make sense for me. Anyway, I having been following all the great posts here and would appreciate any advice going forward.

I've got a used 7' homemade dome in decent condition (needs paint) waiting for walls. There's a 12" concrete pier with a used 4" steel pre-filled basketball poly down the middle. The foundation is approx 48" deep using around 36 or so bags of concrete. My plan is to top off the concrete with 4" of small gravel and pour an 8 foot DIA 4" concrete slab on top. I will pre-install 8" bolts (zinc painted with rustoleum) which will stick up thru the slab. I plan a PVC pipe under the slab to house the wiring. Walls will be 1" smaller in radius than the dome to allow a rubber rain guard to be mounted. Walls will be 2x3" approx 5' high with sheathing on the outside. 1/2" plywood will be cut in semicircles and glued/screwed together. The dome will rotate against skateboard wheels countersunk & mounted on the top circular plywood ring. I'd like to get the slab done before it gets cold.

Attached is a shot of the pier and dome

Regards,
Steve Fugardi

Attached Image:

fugardi's attachment for post 19786
Posted 10/30/2004 09:14AM #1
2nd picture...

Attached Image:

fugardi's attachment for post 84375
Posted 10/31/2004 05:34AM | Edited 10/31/2004 05:49AM #2
Steve'
This web site has an abundance of links to home observatories that should help.

http://nineplanets.org/obs/obslist.html