IC410

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Ipotron mounts

Started by m11, 04/07/2012 05:18AM
Posted 04/07/2012 05:18AM Opening Post
Has anyone tried the mini tower pro.I would love to hear your opinion on this mount.How big of an OTA can it handle.
Barry J
Posted 04/12/2012 01:44PM #1
Barry I can not respond directly to your question as I have no experience with Ioptron
products. However, I was out looking for a goto mount and was doing some research as I
was interested in this mount too. The reports I found on various forums and websites
have been mixed, some good, some not so good, some just bad. A few of the reports were
a year or two old, so with all due respect to Ioptron perhaps those issues have been
resolved. In the end I chickened out (no guts) and bought a new GEM Sirius mount from
Orion. It's a long running product and I have had good luck with the products and service
from Orion. Your call.

Regards,
Tom
Posted 04/13/2012 01:23PM #2
Barry I have a Cube pro works good with an 85 mm scope 102 is do able also there service is excellent was almost out of warranty for a dec issue and was taken care of free. There service is great the minitower pro is a very good mount with a higher payload. HTH
Pete
Posted 04/23/2012 07:57AM #3
Cant speak on the Pro series....but I have a standard minitower thats around 4 yrs old.....Have had two issues with it, the clutch design on the altitude is a little less than great, because of the knob design it is difficult to lock down enough. I drilled and tapped three equidistant holes around its circumference and installed some posts. That cured that.....The 2nd was the alititude motor gave up the ghost a while back out of warrenty....Here is where Ioptron shines for me....Their customer service was EXCELLENT and the replacement was relatively inexpensive, about $50 as I recall....

barry jaquith said: