My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Re: What would you do if?

Started by gk, 11/28/2004 01:55AM
Posted 11/28/2004 01:55AM Opening Post
I ask you a simple question.
What would you do if you were to start all over again with the knowledge you now posses regarding astro-imaging and or photo?
This is where I am right now, I have been enjoying my Intes MN56 for over a year now and am delighted with it's outstanding performance, but I want to delve deeper into the rabbits' hole.
My equipment is as follows:
MN56, CG-5 tripod, Laptop, Max-view 40, tv 2.5 powermate, 9mm, 25mm, and a lot of patience.

Budget is hopefully under 1,000, I want to use it mainly on planets, moon and what ever else I can see here in extremely light polluted South Florida.
If anyone needs help with their golf swing or rules questions, drop me a question, I am a PGA pro and would gladly help you out.
Thanks -GK-
Posted 11/28/2004 03:02AM #1
Get a nice binocular and head for a darker site. You have good equipment and the best seeing in the country. Advice from another beginer, I don't play golf, you must be very good at it.
Posted 11/30/2004 02:18PM #2
With the setup you have, you may want to consider a webcam or an LPI or DSI from Meade. Maybe an off-axis guider to go with it.

With that addition, your equipment is good enough for rudimentary astrophotography (assuming you have motors on the CG-5.)

However, jumping to anything serions will require at least $1500 or so in a mount.

And to answer your introductory question, were I to start all over again, with the knowledge I now possess, maybe I just would not start all over again in astro imaging.

Alex
Posted 11/30/2004 07:01PM #3
George,