My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Where to go for a South Cal newbie

Started by benkokes, 11/29/2004 10:19PM
Posted 11/29/2004 10:19PM Opening Post
Hello all,

I am new to the Astronomy game and would like to go to one of the larger star viewing events. I know nothing about scopes except that the 650x on the side of K-mart scopes is a dirty, dirty like (no, I'm not bitter..) I figured that going out to the evets with many other enthusiasts would give me a feel what would be my better scope to start out with.

Also, how large are some of the star viewing events? 5 people? 50?

Any information would be appreciated...
thanks,
-Ben
benkokes AT hotmail DOT com.

Posted 11/30/2004 12:16AM #1
Ben,

I invite you to come out with us to Landers once a month. We have a star party with anywhere from twenty to forty scopes, and their handlers. We have five acres in the desert, pretty good skies, a house to sleep in if needed, and to warm up in. SOme locally troublesome lights, but pretty dark otherwise. See Rivastro.org and follow the links to GMARS information for details. We will probably be out there the second weekend in December (even though nothing official is scheduled, but contact me personally closer to then just to be sure.

Oh, and of course you are welcome to our meetings also, (same web page for details).

Alex
Riverside Astronomical Society
Posted 11/30/2004 12:18AM #2
One more thought--it is not until Memorial Day weekend, but one of the biggest star parties in the country, RTMC Astronomy Expo--will be at Big Bear, CA.

Alex
Posted 12/09/2004 12:40AM #3
Ben,
Check out the Los Angeles Astronomical Society at www.LAAS.org too.