NGC 6960, Veil Nebula

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

I got a new 20Da camera

Started by phil426, 09/06/2007 08:19AM
Posted 09/06/2007 08:19AM Opening Post
First try with 20Da. M33 2 sets of images 24 and 25 8 min ISO800 subs median combined with IP. The 2 sets were then added. Question? Is there a preferred method of combining all these images? It seems there may be a limiting factor and then there is no more improvement to the image.

Attached Image:

phil426's attachment for post 38555

Phil
Kennewick, WA.
AP 152(old blue)on CI700 w/80mm f/11 guider, C-8 on forks w/80mm f/5 guider, 20x80 binos, ST5C, 201XT, Ricoh 35mm, 20Da.
Posted 09/08/2007 07:43AM #1
I am no expert but after comparing some of mine, if grouping into batches and then recombining Average method worked better than Median. For a single group Median seems to be good enough! I noticed it makes the image background little darker but again I loose some of the very finer details.
I was earliar using Mx516 and after receiving birthday gift from my wife the cd: A Guide to Astrophotography With Digital SLR Camares” by Jerry Lodriguss, turned to 20D. I am not sure one has to follow blindly but it gives a starting point.

FluffyDuck observatory
Celestron 8N/CG5 NON GOTO
Canon 20D, Neximage,MX516
Losmandy G11 GOTO
Posted 09/09/2007 08:04PM #2
Frankly, with as many images as you are combining, you won't see much difference with most of the different methods.

But what method one should use depends on a lot of factors.

If you have done things right (and you have), you have lots of images to use. I think I see 24 images in one set, and 25 in another set. (Why is it that you don't just consider it 49 total images?)