Image of the day

From the
ATWB Customer Gallery

Paying attention

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Telescopes

William Optics ZenithStar 105 Ed Triplet APO

Posted by Chris Provost 01/28/2006 08:17AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

William Optics ZenithStar 105 Ed Triplet APO

A 105mm APO with Rings, a 2" Dielectric diagonal, a red dot finder and a nice case for under $2000.00.

Coronado Calcium-K PST

Posted by Robert Piekiel 01/17/2006 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Solar)

The new Coronado CaK PST makes a fine companion to the Ha PST that many probably already have. How does the new specialty CaK version perform?

Celestron NexStar 102 SLT, The Perfect Grab And Go? - Almost

Posted by Tom McDonough 01/02/2006 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Celestron NexStar 102 SLT, The Perfect Grab And Go? - Almost

With children, busy schedules, and long drives to dark skies, many of us want the ideal grab and go scope for quick backyard observing. The new Celestron NexStar 102 SLT comes very close to achieving the goal of a decent aperture, lightweight, easy to use telescope. It falls short in a few but easy correctable ways.

America's "Nano" Refractor: The Stellervue F50 Finder Scope

Posted by Preston Smith 12/31/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

America's "Nano" Refractor: The Stellervue F50 Finder Scope

Nicknamed the "Sparrow Hawk" this little refractor was designed to be the best 50mm finder on the market. But this little raptor has spread its wings and for many has become a travel scope, guide scope, spotting scope and so much more!

Orion Observer 70: Solid Entry Level Performance

Posted by Lee Spain 12/30/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

For Observers on a budget, the Orion Observer 70 offers an excellent value.

Vixen ED103SWT Apochromatic

Posted by Pernel Johnson 12/15/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Vixen ED103SWT Apochromatic

My apprehension about a scope that had so little information available was quickly squelched during first light.

TravelStar 11" Achromat

Posted by William Paul 12/11/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

TravelStar 11" Achromat

A general overview of this unique instrument from Joseph Drapell

Vixen VMC260L - Astrograph

Posted by keith Shank 12/08/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Vixen VMC260L - Astrograph

Taking a gamble on the first of a scope can be harrowing, but this gamble paid off and keeps on being a winner.

Celestron C6-S Schmidt-Cassegrainian

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 11/11/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Celestron C6-S  Schmidt-Cassegrainian

Something borrowed; something new

Orion Starmax 90

Posted by David Carwile 11/03/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

cheap, good and fast

The Megrez 80 II ED triplet APO, an affordable APO with pleasant surprises

Posted by fred hissink 10/26/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

The Megrez 80 II ED triplet APO, an affordable APO with pleasant surprises

Fred Hissink Sometimes even a die-hard observer can be stunned by the release of a product... Especially when this product contents the magic word APO! The William Optics Megrez 80 II ED triplet Apochromatic surprised me and not only because of its outstanding color-free performance... It surprised me in many ways, so I definitely want to add my experiences to what has been written about this extraordinary telescope.

The Megrez ED triplet APO, an affordable APO with many pleasant surprises

Posted by fred hissink 10/25/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Sometimes even a die-hard observer can be stunned by the release of a product... Especially when this product contains the magic word APO! The William Optics Megrez 80 II ED triplet Apochromatic surprised me and not only because of its outstanding color-free performance... It surprised me in many ways, so I definitely want to add my experiences to what has been written about this extraordinary telescope.

Back to the Future: The Orion SkyQuest XT6 Dobsonian Reflector

Posted by Michael Aaron McNeely 10/23/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Back to the Future: The Orion SkyQuest XT6 Dobsonian Reflector

It is amazing what is available to today’s amateur astronomer. For example, I just purchased an Orion SkyQuest XT6, 6-inch Dobsonian reflector, and this scope represents a significant improvement in quality when compared to a similarly priced 8-inch Dobsonian telescope that I purchased in 1987.

Zenithstar 80: Review-Part 2

Posted by Otto Piechowski 10/17/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Rima Birt and Cassini, yes. Trapezium e, no.

8” f/6 ED Travel Star Refractor

Posted by Oren Soffer 10/15/2005 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

        8”  f/6 ED  Travel Star Refractor

Extra short and light 203mm refractor, for binoviewing without Barlows, (or single eyepiece viewing with extension tube), knock-down design for travel