Image of the day

From the
ATWB Customer Gallery

The Iris

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Cats

Meade ETX-LS Review - Part 3 - Computerized Mount and Final Thoughts

Posted by John Kramer 02/02/2010 12:00AM

This is the final part of my three part review devoted to the ETX-LS. It focuses on the computerized mount and how it performed over a series of observing sessions. I conclude with my final thoughts on using the Meade ETX-LS.

Meade ETX-LS Review - Part Two - Optics

Posted by John Kramer 11/24/2009 12:00AM

Part one covered my brief impression of the physical characteristics of the telescope after setup and a brief night out under the stars. Now that I have had a chance to take the ETX-LS out for a few long observing sessions, how did the ETX-LS perform optically? Find out more.

VMC110L w/Porta II

Posted by Hugh Peck 11/11/2009 12:00AM

Mostly good Chinese made scope with just a couple of irritations.

Meade ETX-LS - Part One - First light and first impressions

Posted by John Kramer 11/04/2009 06:08PM

Meade ETX-LS - Part One - First light and first impressions

This is part one of a multi-part review of Meade's ETX-LS. Part one will focus on the initial impression of this new telescope from Meade.

Nexstar 11 GPS in EQ Mode w/ tag-on Orion Express

Posted by Ronald Abraham 10/10/2009 08:54AM

A unbeatable combo for Oklahoma's rare great nights.

Meade ETX-LS 6"ACF

Posted by Daniel Evans 08/26/2009 02:39PM

An unbiased review!

SCT Collimation under Adverse Circumstances

Posted by Greg Nowell 06/27/2009 04:39PM

SCT Collimation under Adverse Circumstances

Disassembly, transport, and other adjustments to SCTs may result in gross miscollimation, where no "classic doughnut" is available to help in the adjustment process. Bad seeing also results in "bad doughnuts" which make collimation difficult. This article addresses these conditions, and provides some further pointers on SCT collimation.

CPC800 a great buy!

Posted by Mike Sheron 06/24/2009 12:00AM

CPC800 a great buy!

The CPC800 is just what the astronomer ordered!

Celestron NexStar 4SE

Posted by Mike Sheron 07/21/2008 12:00AM

4SE is a great begining!

Removing the Internal Counterweight - Meade 7” Maksutov

Posted by Steve Hollenbach 06/04/2008 02:20PM

Removing the Internal Counterweight - Meade 7” Maksutov

Several Meade 7” MAK owners have asked how this is done, including myself, so I did it and wrote it down for your information. Thanks, Steve Hollenbach

MN56...

Posted by Ed Moreno 05/07/2008 12:00AM

STill viable???

The Classic Orange-Tube Celestron C11 revisited

Posted by Robert Piekiel 04/28/2008 12:00AM

The Classic Orange-Tube Celestron C11 revisited

If you're searching for a telescope with decent aperture and extreme portability, this Classic Celestron form 25+ years ago might fit your plans better than anything else.

My Meade 7" LX200GPS Maksutov-Cassegrain

Posted by Patricia Byerly 03/24/2008 12:00AM

A young amateur astronomer finds a winning scope

ORION 180mm MAKSUTOV-CASSEGRAINIAN

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 03/20/2008 12:00AM

Certainly, a quality APO refractor is a favorite tool of the high-resolution aficionado, and a long-focus Newtonian reflector is also very desirable, but the cost of obtaining an adequate mount for the long and heavy tube assemblies may easily double the price of the telescope alone. This is where compound catadioptric scopes have found their niche in minimizing tube length and weight while still providing excellent image quality.

Mewlon 250S and EM-400 for Imagers

Posted by John O'Neill 12/29/2007 12:00AM

Mewlon 250S and EM-400 for Imagers

Imagers may be interested in this scope/mount combo