Image of the day

From the
ATWB Customer Gallery

Moon Snapshot with Starmaster 11 "Shorty"

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Telescopes

Using the Vixen VMC-260L

Posted by Glen Ward 08/21/2012 09:22AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

A good scope which could easily have been the best - but isn't.

Eight-inch Shootout

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 05/11/2012 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Other)

Eight-inch Shootout

A Celestron 8 SCT and 8” Dob go head-to-head against a premium Mak-Newtonian (with a special guest appearance by a Takahashi FS-152) by Lawrence Carlino

Hubble Optics 16" Ultra Light Structure

Posted by Hugh Bartlett 03/20/2012 11:06AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Hubble Optics 16" Ultra Light Structure

How good is the 16" ultra-portable scope at a fraction of the cost of an Obsession?

Webster D18

Posted by Rob Campbell 02/04/2012 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Webster D18

The Webster Telescopes D18 is a relatively compact and light-weight 18" truss-tube Dobsonian. Made in Detroit, MI.

Vixen Space Eye 70mm Alt-Azimuth Refractor

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 01/22/2012 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Vixen Space Eye 70mm Alt-Azimuth Refractor

A beginner’s scope that won’t disappoint?

B&L Criterion 4000 - a scope with Junk Bond Status

Posted by Malcolm Bird 01/15/2012 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

B&L Criterion 4000 - a scope with Junk Bond Status

Does it really belong with department store refractors

10" Pemium Discovery Dobsonian Telescope

Posted by David Bentley 12/01/2011 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

I only had to pay $895 for this $1700 equipped telescope! Observing the moon at 285X had me gliding over the moon on an airballoon. Wow!

Celestron's new Bronze age NexStar 6se

Posted by Larry Beach 11/12/2011 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Celestron's new Bronze age NexStar 6se

Chinese Optics... Dynamite or Dud?

Apertura AD12 - Great things come in large packages

Posted by John Kramer 10/05/2011 08:30PM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Apertura AD12 - Great things come in large packages

The Apertura AD12 may sound unfamiliar to most, but I'm betting it won't be that way for long. This is a review of the 12" f5 Dobsonian with the "Tweaker's Dream Package".

Observing with Webster 28" f/2.7

Posted by Dave Bonandrini 07/29/2011 09:52PM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Observing with Webster 28" f/2.7

A 28" telescope with a 70" eyepiece height at zenith? If you thought that the big Dob revolution had hit its plateau, wait until you meet the largest, fastest Dob on the planet.

Astronomy Technology 8" Reflector

Posted by Paul Temple 05/26/2011 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Astronomy Technology 8" Reflector

Out of a 125 mph wind comes a telescope!

Webster Telescopes C-32: A review of the structure, optics, and functionality of my Webster Telescopes 32" F/3.6 truss style dobsonian.

Posted by joe wambo 04/08/2011 10:19PM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Other)

Webster Telescopes C-32: A review of the structure, optics, and functionality of my Webster Telescopes 32" F/3.6 truss style dobsonian.

While this structure possessed much potential, the lack of field testing, setup, and the presence of poorly corrected optics, resulted in lackluster performance and frustration. A long road had to be traveled before this scope and optics reached their full potential.