Image of the day

From the
ATWB Customer Gallery

Mars_Oct-Dec_2005

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Reviews

SkyTools 2. All you need?

Posted by Rod Mollise 10/23/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Software)

SkyTools 2.  All you need?

A Review of Greg Crinklaw's SkyTools 2

Review: Celestron, the Early Years

Posted by Rod Mollise 10/23/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Booksperiodicals)

Review:  Celestron, the Early Years

Think back—way back. While your friends were dreaming of minibikes, massive 8-track stereos, Corvettes and make-out parties were you drooling over White Tube C10s, C16s and (gosh) C22s?

Making sense of scope reviews

Posted by Mark Rieck 10/16/2004 06:40PM   (Reviews/Beginners)

Ever end up being more confused about a scope decision after you read all the articles than you were before you read them?

Battery Power

Posted by Mark Keitel 10/07/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Hardware)

Battery Power

Traveling to a Star Party or Remote location one needs to think about power consumption. With our High Tech gear out power consumptions are ever increasing, with mounts, cameras, laptops and the list goes on. Our Star Party sites are slowly becoming overtaxed with our love of High Tech gear.

ASTROKITS LXD55 Adapter Plates

Posted by Mike Curnutt 10/07/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Mounts/Equatorial)

ASTROKITS LXD55 Adapter Plates

An inexpensive, yet very functional and stable solution to end eyepiece wiggles when using medium size Equatorial Mounts by using an AstroMart Sponsor's Adapter for LXD55 GoTo or other CG5 Clones to mount to a Heavier Duty Tripod.

The 5 things it has taken me half my life to learn about viewing the sky

Posted by Steve Coe 10/02/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

Steve Coe is the Vice President of the Saguaro Astronomy Club in Phoenix, Arizona. He has written a book, Deep Sky Observing-The Astronomical Tourist....

Knight_Owl Services (GSO) Eyepiece Review

Posted by Eric Esworthy 10/01/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Eyepieces/Other)

Could it be that we finally have a low cost solution for exceptional views of the night sky? Read on & draw your own conclusions.

A Stellar experience at New Mexico skies

Posted by Murray Carlson 09/29/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

A Stellar experience at New Mexico skies

As an amateur astronomer I have a lot in common with thousands of others in my hobby around the world. The common struggle to achieve the best equipment, training and clear skies combined with the free time to enjoy it all is a major challenge. All of these problems evaporated with a wonderful week spent with Lynn and Mike at New Mexico Skies.

Orion SkyQuest XT10i Dobsonian

Posted by Max Corneau 09/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Newts)

Orion SkyQuest XT10i Dobsonian

Lots of aperture for the money, this nicely designed scope exceeds all of my expectations.

AP/Baader Planetarium Mark V in Fast Newtonian

Posted by Milton Wilcox 09/24/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Binoviewers)

AP/Baader Planetarium Mark V in Fast Newtonian

With apologies to John Hiatt, it's been a slow turning...

Aperture vs. Light Pollution

Posted by Ed Moreno 09/23/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

City/Suburban Observing and how misleading marketing materials might disappoint beginning astronomers.

Meade AR-5 OTA (LXD55 version)

Posted by Eric Esworthy 09/22/2004 12:03PM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

A "Luck of the draw" achromat? Or just good quality? Maybe both... A nice visit with a new friend!

In Defense of the Poor Meade LXD 55

Posted by Art Ahrens 09/21/2004 09:13PM   (Reviews/Mounts/Equatorial)

Meade Suckered Us into Buying Overloaded Mounts!!!, or Does the LXD 55 Deserve its Bad Name?

Maps of Time: An Introduction To Big History By David Christian

Posted by Max Corneau 09/21/2004 03:25PM   (Reviews/Accessories/Booksperiodicals)

Maps of Time:  An Introduction To Big History By David Christian

This 634 page tome is well worth the reading effort. Dr. Christian's "big history" work carries the reader from the origins of the universe to the fate of man beyond Earth.