Image of the day

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Reviews

Orion 80mm ED Refractor OTA

Posted by Shane LaPierre 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Orion 80mm ED Refractor OTA

Find out how this inexpensive "apo" performs.

Starlight Instruments FeatherTouch Focuser

Posted by Paul Atkinson 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Hardware)

Starlight Instruments FeatherTouch Focuser

If You Think Butter Is Smooth, You Should Try This!

Orion Apex 127 Maksutov-Cassegrainian

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Orion Apex 127 Maksutov-Cassegrainian

Take a bite of this not-so-big Mak Attack

Which eyepiece should I buy for my new telescope?

Posted by Tom Hole 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

A primer for beginners on eyepiece selection.

Mewlon 300

Posted by Mark Keitel 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Mewlon 300

Are you prepared to view through the best planetary scope you can move yourself?

Polar Alignment for Dummies

Posted by Edward Otto 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

The thing that I have seen beginners struggling with is Polar Alignment. This short article is intended to allieviate your stress.

Wild Card 001 - The Exit Pupil of a Telescope

Posted by Rick Shaffer 05/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

Wild Card 001 - The Exit Pupil of a Telescope

Despite the fact that it’s pretty boring, telescope designer Rick Shaffer explains the elusive exit pupil of a telescope. This is the very first installment of his new column, Wild Card.

Meade 127MM ED Semi Apo Refractor

Posted by George Mavromates 05/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Meade 127MM ED Semi Apo Refractor

My astronomy experience, the scope, first light, second attempt, and summary.

Hutech Motorized Alt-Az Mount

Posted by Joe Metzger 05/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Mounts/Alt-Azimuth)

Hutech Motorized Alt-Az Mount

Have a small grab n' go scope on a manual mount? Annoyed by mount shake and shimmy? Here's a mount that may solve the problem...

The Aries SAFIX

Posted by Rod Mollise 05/24/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Eyepieces/Other)

The Aries SAFIX

Spherical Aberraton? What Spherical Aberration?

Takahashi FS-60C Apochromatic refractor

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 05/19/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

...Despite its small aperture and limited light grasp, this 2.4" provided some wonderful, high-contrast views. Using a 9mm Nagler type 6 wide-field eyepiece that generated 40x, I found the oft-observed Double Cluster in Perseus a wonderful sight...

Planetary Imaging with a Webcam and an SCT

Posted by Rod Mollise 05/18/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes)

Planetary Imaging with a Webcam and an SCT

The planets are tough. Tough to observe visually and especially tough to image. Those of you who’ve got a few Mars oppositions under your belts know what I’m talking about.

Maxim DL/CCD Ver.4 - First Impressions

Posted by Randy Nulman 05/18/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Software)

Being a long time user of the Maxim software, I eagerly awaited the release of Version 4. I was not disappointed!