Image of the day

Captured by
RICHARD COFER

Total Lunar Eclipse

My Account

New to Astromart?

Register an account...

Need Help?

Reviews

Orion 80mm ED Refractor OTA

Posted by Shane LaPierre 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Orion 80mm ED Refractor OTA

Find out how this inexpensive "apo" performs.

Starlight Instruments FeatherTouch Focuser

Posted by Paul Atkinson 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Hardware)

Starlight Instruments FeatherTouch Focuser

If You Think Butter Is Smooth, You Should Try This!

Orion Apex 127 Maksutov-Cassegrainian

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Orion Apex 127 Maksutov-Cassegrainian

Take a bite of this not-so-big Mak Attack

Which eyepiece should I buy for my new telescope?

Posted by Tom Hole 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

A primer for beginners on eyepiece selection.

Mewlon 300

Posted by Mark Keitel 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Cats)

Mewlon 300

Are you prepared to view through the best planetary scope you can move yourself?

Polar Alignment for Dummies

Posted by Edward Otto 05/27/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

The thing that I have seen beginners struggling with is Polar Alignment. This short article is intended to allieviate your stress.

Wild Card 001 - The Exit Pupil of a Telescope

Posted by Rick Shaffer 05/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Beginners)

Wild Card 001 - The Exit Pupil of a Telescope

Despite the fact that it’s pretty boring, telescope designer Rick Shaffer explains the elusive exit pupil of a telescope. This is the very first installment of his new column, Wild Card.

Meade 127MM ED Semi Apo Refractor

Posted by George Mavromates 05/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

Meade 127MM ED Semi Apo Refractor

My astronomy experience, the scope, first light, second attempt, and summary.

Hutech Motorized Alt-Az Mount

Posted by Joe Metzger 05/26/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Mounts/Alt-Azimuth)

Hutech Motorized Alt-Az Mount

Have a small grab n' go scope on a manual mount? Annoyed by mount shake and shimmy? Here's a mount that may solve the problem...

The Aries SAFIX

Posted by Rod Mollise 05/24/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Eyepieces/Other)

The Aries SAFIX

Spherical Aberraton? What Spherical Aberration?

Takahashi FS-60C Apochromatic refractor

Posted by Lawrence Carlino 05/19/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes/Refractors)

...Despite its small aperture and limited light grasp, this 2.4" provided some wonderful, high-contrast views. Using a 9mm Nagler type 6 wide-field eyepiece that generated 40x, I found the oft-observed Double Cluster in Perseus a wonderful sight...

Planetary Imaging with a Webcam and an SCT

Posted by Rod Mollise 05/18/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Telescopes)

Planetary Imaging with a Webcam and an SCT

The planets are tough. Tough to observe visually and especially tough to image. Those of you who’ve got a few Mars oppositions under your belts know what I’m talking about.

Maxim DL/CCD Ver.4 - First Impressions

Posted by Randy Nulman 05/18/2004 12:00AM   (Reviews/Accessories/Software)

Being a long time user of the Maxim software, I eagerly awaited the release of Version 4. I was not disappointed!